How to be frugal without being a tight-arse

I can’t stand seeing people waste their hard-earned money on things that they either don’t need, or that they could DIY.

Society has created a world of “want” rather than “need” which is both bad for our pockets and the environment.

Frugality for me is not about living “on a shoe string” or about going without. It is mostly about:

  1. creating wealth by resisting the urge to buy things that I don’t need;
  2. enriching my life with experiences rather than owning things;
  3. reducing my footprint on the environment;
  4. Prioritising the things that are important to me.

If this is something that you are interested in, I can offer you the following most important advice:

  1. Stop trying to keep up with the Joneses it’s unhealthy!
  2. Borrow whenever you can. Don’t buy things that you are unsure if you will ever use again. (This includes power tools, suitcases for that once a year trip, platters or chairs for parties etc).
  3. Do not go shopping unless you actually NEED something. If you find yourself wandering around a shopping centre because you are bored- find a hobby, have coffee with a friend, go for a walk on the beach… whatever!
  4. Before throwing it away.. fix it, transform it, paint it, up-cycle it, sell it or give it away. However….
  5. DO NOT HOARD IT!  If you don’t need it, don’t hold onto it. Because if you hold onto it, you might find yourself needing containers or cupboards to store it, or using your precious time to dust it.
  6. DIY wherever you can. If you are outsourcing something that you can do yourself you are being LAZY! If you are not sure if you can do it yourself- GOOGLE it!
  7. Do not impulse buy. If you don’t LURVE it or if you are not sure that it is what you are looking for, think about it.

I like to have nice things and take holidays like most of you. Frugality is not a race to see who can be the biggest tight-arse. Its about being financially smart, and not wasting money so that you have more money for the things that are really important to you.

The following things will help you to become Frugalable:

  1. Set goals and decide what you really want to spend your money on… (a new car or more holidays? Remember its about saving where you can so that you can spend on what is important. It is not about being a Scrooge Mcduck)
  2. Encourage the people around you to do the same. Educate them.
  3. You are not CHEAP, you are  THRIFTY / FRUGAL / SMART 😉
3 thoughts on “How to be frugal without being a tight-arse

Add yours

  1. Completely agree with this! I’ve tried explaining this too, after being laughed at for my frugal ways! It’s not about not spending anything, because if it was then I’m failing, just doing it a bit more cleverly 🙂

    Like

    1. Exactly. People are always commenting on how neat and tidy my house is and assume I spend endless hours cleaning. But it’s because I don’t have piles of junk that I don’t need. And I feel so guilty when I throw things away so I list it a site like Gumtree and give it away for free instead. I noticed you’re in the UK. Here in Australia, Gumtree is a site where you can advertise stuff for sale but with no fee.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We have Gumtree too and I never think is using it. Thanks! I want to get rid of some things so will try it. Otherwise, charity! I’m definitely a hoarder, but I’m much better than I was!

        Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...... :)

Up ↑

Emma

Politics, things that make you think, and recreational breaks

Supermum lost her cape

www.supermumlosthercape.wordpress.com

Millionaire's Digest

Discover, Share & Connect Your Passion with the World!

Fabulous Blogging

Decoding the Blog Scene One Post at a Time

Maison de Pax

be smart, be frugal, not cheap

The Middlest Sister

There are 5 sisters. She's the middlest.

Fabulous Blogging

Decoding the Blog Scene One Post at a Time

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

Frugalable

be smart, be frugal, not cheap

