Survive having a baby financially

My older children were 9 and 13 years old when my third child was born. The only baby related item still left in my house was a nappy bucket.

When I had child #1, I had no idea what I was doing or what I needed and I think people recognised this and gave me a lot of second-hand and new clothes, furniture and baby items which I gladly excepted.

When child #2 came along, I replaced a lot of the second-hand things with new things because I wanted to ‘do things better’.

In the years following, I slowly sold all of my baby items on Gumtree and eBay or gave them away to friends and charity.

Now that I’m a decade older, wiser, and tied to a mortgage, I wanted to have nice things for child #3 without breaking the budget. Although I could afford to buy these things new, I had become addicted to more frugal ways. I will however, only buy second-hand if it looks near new.

So this is how I did it:

c6_4e70244680bfaThe pram that I liked in the baby shop was a $650 Steelcraft Strider  but I didn’t want to spend that sort of money on a pram that I would only use for one child. So I went to a baby and children’s market which I learnt about from a work colleague.  There were about 20 different second-hand prams that I could perusal and I found a Love and Care Adiva sports pram which had the same 4 wheels as a Strider but which could convert to a bassinet without having to buy a bassinet separately. The seller was asking $120. I wanted to read some reviews and knew EBay was another option. I found the same pram a month later on ebay and bought it for $60 from a grandmother who used it once a week for her grandchild. (New price $550. Saving $490);

 

While at this same market, I bought a lot of near new baby clothing for $2 each. I have been back to this baby and children’s market three times now as it is held once or twice a year. My last purchase was 10X size 0 dresses (numerous brands including Target and Pumpkin Patch) for $2 each. (New approx. $150-$200. Saving at least $130);

10492098_10202942416536010_2200724414217312927_n
This wall decal was purchased from Ebay

 

Instead of a bassinet, I opted for a Miyo baby hammock which I discovered while perusing Gumtree. I purchased one for $70 (saving $70). It was the best thing ever! Baby slept like an angel.

Baby Bjorn carrier from ebay $20 (saving over $100);

Toddler trolley cover from the baby and kids market $5 (saving $40);

 

 

I was handed a white cot from a cousin which I gave a good scrub with sugar soap (I have also reused the mattress but would not recommend this if purchased from eBay) (saving $400);

I was given a wooden lacquered change table from a friend and with her permission, I gave it light sand and painted it white (new $120, saving $100);

I was given a car seat (0-4yrs) from my sister’s friend who had only needed it for 12 months and gave her a $50 voucher to say thanks (saving $150)

I bought a Stride capsule from a work colleague for $70 an was able to resell it on Gumtree for the same amount. (saving $200)

**You need to ensure the capsule/car seats have not been involved in an accident. Make sure the manufacturing sticker indicates the seat is less than 10yrs old.

I have borrowed a porta cot from a friend (worth $180);

Two cot blankets were purchased from the baby and kids market for a total of $10 (saving approx. $100);

 

 

A Bentwood rocking chair for the nursery was purchased from ebay for $40 (saving $100).

 

 

These things alone have saved me over $2000.

Wasting money on buying new things which I know I can get a lot cheaper second hand now makes me feel guilty. The thrill of finding something new-looking for a lot less is addictive and the satisfying feeling is indescribable.

  • Borrow wherever you can.
  • Accept hand me downs. You don’t have to keep everything!
  • Always look on ebay and gumtree before buying big ticket items new. You can also purchase bags of pre-loved clothing.  

You would be amazed at what you might find. Other people will be non the wiser!

To find a market of pre-loved baby and kids items near you in Australia try babykidsmarket.com.au  

 

 

2 thoughts on “Survive having a baby financially

Add yours

I'd love to hear your thoughts...... :)

Up ↑

Emma

Politics, things that make you think, and recreational breaks

Supermum lost her cape

www.supermumlosthercape.wordpress.com

Millionaire's Digest

Millionaire's Digest - Share your passions, discover what others are sharing, and connect with new friends who are passionate about the same things as you are!

Fabulous Blogging

Decoding the Blog Scene One Post at a Time

Maison de Pax

be smart, be frugal, not cheap

The Middlest Sister

There are 5 sisters. She's the middlest.

Fabulous Blogging

Decoding the Blog Scene One Post at a Time

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

Frugalable

be smart, be frugal, not cheap

